ICYMI: What They’re Saying about the Blue Dog Coalition’s Leadership, New Members for the 116th Congress

Nov 30, 2018
Press Release

WASHINGTON—Earlier this week, the Blue Dog Coalition announced its leadership for the 116th Congress and inducted seven new members. Next Congress, the Coalition will fight to restore the American Dream and put our country on the path to prosperity. The Coalition will continue to focus on its long-held mission to pursue commonsense, bipartisan solutions that will get our country’s fiscal house in order and ensure a strong national defense. The Blue Dog Coalition’s Co-Chairs for the 116th Congress will include Reps. Stephanie Murphy (FL-07), Tom O’Halleran (AZ-01), Lou Correa (CA-46), and Kurt Schrader (OR-05).



BACK ROW (LEFT TO RIGHT): Rep.-elect Mikie Sherrill (NJ-11), Rep.-elect Max Rose (NY-11), Rep. Brad Schneider (IL-10), Rep. Jim Cooper (TN-05), Rep. Henry Cuellar (TX-28), Rep.-elect Anthony Brindisi (NY-22), Rep. Jim Costa (CA-16), Rep. Dan Lipinski (IL-03), Rep.-elect Ben McAdams (UT-04), Rep. Josh Gottheimer (NJ-05), Rep.-elect Abigail Spanberger (VA-07), and Rep.-elect  Xochitl Torres Small (NM-02). FRONT ROW (LEFT TO RIGHT): Rep. Charlie Crist (FL-13), Rep. Collin Peterson (MN-07), Rep. David Scott (GA-13), Rep. Lou Correa (CA-46), Rep. Stephanie Murphy (FL-07), Rep. Tom O’Halleran (AZ-01), Rep. Kurt Schrader (OR-05), and Rep.-elect Jeff Van Drew (NJ-02).


Since our announcement, people have been buzzing about the news. Here’s a sample of what they’ve been saying:




“Democrats owe their new House majority to the Blue Dog Coalition's members-elect and other pragmatic candidates, who competed and won on some of America’s toughest terrain—in suburban, exurban and rural communities, where the party has lost too much ground in the last decade. Under the bright new leadership of Reps. Stephanie Murphy, Tom O'Halleran, Lou Correa, and Kurt Schrader, the Coalition will play an integral role in leading the Democratic Party to govern effectively, keep expanding its coalition, and be competitive in every part of the country in 2020 and beyond.”


Will Marshall, President, Progressive Policy Institute (PPI)


“The 116th Congress will mark a new chapter in the Blue Dog Coalition’s history under the leadership of Reps. Stephanie Murphy, Tom O’Halleran, Lou Correa, and Kurt Schrader. They will help to unite and move our country forward in time of real consequence in our nation’s history. The American people are tired of empty, partisan rhetoric—what they want is real results. We are confident the Blue Dogs and other pragmatic members of Congress will carry on the tradition to navigate the waters ahead and work across the aisle to deliver real results for the American people.”


Cori Kramer, Executive Director, Center Forward


“No story of the Blue Wave is complete without mention of the Blue Dogs who dramatically expanded their numbers and helped Democrats retake the House. A larger and more diverse Blue Dog coalition will be led by three fantastic and diverse co-chairs. We look forward to continuing our partnership with our Blue Dog friends led by Reps. Stephanie Murphy, Tom O’Halleran, Lou Correa, and Kurt Schrader. The path to the majority runs through Blue Dog districts and every Democrat can learn a lesson from them on how to make a Democratic case in places where Trump is not unpopular. It matters for keeping House majorities and it’s essential to win back the White House.”


Jim Kessler, Senior Vice President for Policy, Third Way











ROLL CALL: Blue Dog Coalition Elects 3 New Co-Chairs to Lead Them in Next Congress

The Blue Dog Coalition on Tuesday elected three new co-chairs — all current freshmen — to lead the group of two dozen fiscally conservative Democrats in the next Congress. 


THE BEAT DC: Blue Dog Coalition Elects First Woman of Color as Co-Chair

The Blue Dog Coalition, a group of two dozen fiscally conservative House Democrats, on Tuesday elected three new co-chairs: Stephanie Murphy (FL) will serve as Administration Co-Chair; Tom O’Halleran (AZ) as Policy Co-Chair; and Lou Correa (CA) as Communications Co-Chair. Murphy, who is Vietnamese American, is the first woman of color to ever lead the Blue Dog Coalition and was elected unanimously.