The Blue Dog Coalition is an official caucus in the U.S. House of Representatives comprised of 26 fiscally-responsible Democrats. They are pragmatic Democrats, appealing to the mainstream values of the American public. The Blue Dogs are dedicated to pursuing fiscally-responsible policies, ensuring a strong national defense, and transcending party lines to get things done for the American people.

The members of the Blue Dog Coalition come from every region of the country, from as far north as Maine, to as far south as Florida, to as far west as Hawaii and California. Many members also come from the heartland of America, including Texas and Minnesota. The Coalition prides itself on its diversity and the uniting factor of its core principles outlined in the preamble of its bylaws, which states the following: “Members of the Blue Dog Coalition are dedicated to the financial stability and national security of the country, notwithstanding partisan political positions and personal fortune and do hereby agree to organize a Coalition to serve the interests of our country.”

The co-chairs for the 116th Congress are U.S. Representatives Anthony Brindisi (NY-22), Lou Correa (CA-46), Stephanie Murphy (FL-07), and Tom O'Halleran (AZ-01).

Additional information on the Blue Dog Coalition's history and its legacy of policy success are available below: